About Croatia

Croatia, officially the Republic of Croatia, is a country in central and southeastern Europe, at the crossroads of the Pannonian Plain, the Balkans, and the Adriatic Sea. Its capital (and largest city) is Zagreb. Croatia borders Slovenia and Hungary to the north, Bosnia to the southeast, and Serbia and Montenegro to the east.

Croatia is unique for its diversity. Much has been said about the beauty of Croatia. It' been described as "Heaven on Earth" in many books, paintings and photographs.

Climate is friendly; summers are worm and dry and Adriatic coast is one of the sunniest on the Mediterranean with approximate 2.600 sunny hours per year and sea temperature of approx. 27°C. The winters are mild with rare precipitations, although there are more than few ski sites with astonishing runs and views.

Nature with its insignificantly altered ecosystems, beautiful beaches on the indented coast of the warm Adriatic sea, rocky mountains, will amaze passers-by as well as those who choose to spend their holidays in Croatia.

Traditional cuisine based on homegrown ingredients accompanied with exquisite vines can satisfy the most sophisticated tastes. Tourists simply fall in love with Croatia and keep coming back year after year.

The cultural heritage of Croatia is not as famous as are the cultural heritages of some large and mighty countries; it contains no grandiose monuments such as the pyramids of Egypt or Pompeii in Italy. Croatia was never the centre of large empires in the past, but many visitors will be surprised by the number of cultural heritage sites under UNESCO protection in relation to the country’s relatively small area. One of the reasons for this wealth is Croatia’s exceptional position on vital communication routes and the crossroads of great civilizations, each of which wanted to leave its own mark. That is why this land boasts such an exceptional diversity of cultural heritage, and a range of monuments dating from all periods of civilization: from the prehistoric to most recent times. In other words, we see monuments from ancient Greece and Rome, early medieval monuments, the Mediterranean Renaissance, Central European Baroque and the New Age Secession heritage.

The UNESCO has marked six places in Croatia as World Heritage:

*Episcopal complex of the Euphrasian Basilica in the historic center of Poreč

*St. Jacob’s Cathedral, Šibenik

*Historic city of Trogir

*Diocletian’s Palace, Split

*Old city of Dubrovnik

*Plitvice Lakes

*Stari Grad Plain

There are 8 national parks, ten nature parks and two strict reserves.

*Plitvice Lakes



*Island of Mljet

*Kornati islands

*Brijuni islands

*Krka falls

*Northern Velebit

Let  this  star  lead !